Skip to content

What a day!!!

April 6, 2010

Actually, I should say what a weekend!

It really started a couple of weeks ago when the ChemE announce his boss was coming to town with a few people from the corporate office. For those who are going, “huh?!” the ChemE is the plant manager at a relatively medium sized Armstrong World Industries nearby which specializes in hardwood flooring.

So if you’re looking to put in hardwoods, think Armstrong! My ChemE thanks you. Armstrong thanks you. I thank you. And my children thank you.

So this weekend, the ChemE had Friday off for Good Friday and they took Monday off for Easter Monday. So we had 4 days to get everything ready. Normally, it wouldn’t throw me into panic…getting ready for company. But this was “THE” boss! We wanted to make a good impression. *wink* *wink*

We painted 2 bathrooms, cleaned out the garage, had 5 contractor sized garbage bags of trash…you get the idea. The ChemE even broke down and bought a really nice area rug for the living room!

Monday arrived and the ChemE went to play golf with his boss and associates. I stayed home to finish cleaning and cook. I barely had time to check my email or even answer my phone. Not that I like answering the phone. I seem to get a lot of survey marketers.

I started off baking a cake. It didn’t go well. To put it nicely, it bombed big time. Of course, it didn’t bomb big time until it was nearly time for these men to show up at my house for a fabulous supper. Thank heavens for brownie mixes.

So supper was ready when everyone showed up. After supper, the men gathered in the living room to watch the NCAA championship game. I gave Prissy a bath. Actually, she played in the bathtub while I tried to do some work in the bedroom. (Yes, she was in my line of sight. No worries there.)

I started checking my email and discovered a message from Jennifer Warthan of “The Cotton Wife” blog posted on my facebook page.

I had entered a contest on her blog. She is an awesome photographer, an awesome mom and wife, and just an awesome person.

So she had a contest  and asked us readers to tell her what their favorite garden fresh vegetable is. I have to tell you, cucumbers are mine. I love, love, love a fresh cucumber.

I had won her contest!!!

After a successful supper, finding out I had won this contest was the icing on the cake.

Well, the icing on the brownie!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

