Skip to content

Chicken and Mushroom Quesadillas

December 16, 2009

Tonight, I was in a quandary. The monkeytoes wanted the homemade mac’n’cheese, but my big pot was in the dishwasher. Not washing.

That is right…it was just in there.

So what’s a Monketoesmom to do? No…I wasn’t going to wash the big pot and oblige my monkeytoes. I came up with another idea!!!

Cheese quesadillas! They love cheese quesadillas….so perfect!

One problem.

I want something with more than just cheese. Something easy, quick…hmmmmm. What is in the fridge? I see leftover salsa chicken and some baby bella mushrooms. I’ve GOT IT! Chicken and Mushroom quesadillas!

So, here is what to do.

Wash your mushrooms. Yes, wash them. I used sliced mushrooms. Put some butter in a skillet, which has been heated on medium high. Preferably a cast iron skillet, but if all you have is a regular skillet, go for it. (I love my cast iron. I have 2 skillets and a griddle. I used my griddle for this recipe)

Let the butter melt and put the mushrooms in the skillet. Let them cook down…about 5 minutes. Remove them and put the chicken in the skillet.

Oh…let me state here, I had chicken already cooked in my fridge. If you don’t have chicken cooked, take the time here to cook a chicken breast. I had 1, so that is what I used.

Now, put a big pat of butter in your skillet. Drop a flour tortilla in the butter and let it start to brown, flip it after it starts to puff. Put a handful of shredded Mexican cheese on the entire tortilla and some of the chicken and mushroom mixture on top of the cheese. Next, add more cheese and a second tortilla. Let the cheese start to melt, and using a spatula, turn the quesadilla over, carefully. Allow the second tortilla to brown, making sure the cheese is melted.

I served mine (to myself) with sour cream.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

