Skip to content

Macaroni and Cheese and Cheeseburger Mac’n’cheese

November 20, 2009

Okay, a long time ago, I learned what real mac’n’cheese was. Thus began what became an obsession with finding the perfect mac’n’cheese. I thought that the stuff in a box was good…but my mom’s was always better. Not the healthiest in the land, but really, really good. I even found a recipe by Rachael Ray that was yummy…but too darn time consuming.

So, I created my own one night. Out of necessity more than anything. I needed a good, cheap, quick meal for my boys to eat. I had several things on hand, but I knew my oldest loved cheeseburger mac’n’cheese. And by loved, I mean like you would love a child. He is obsessed, too.

Here it is…my mac’n’cheese recipe with an add on for the cheeseburger part. Enjoy!!

1 box (1lb) macaroni

1/2 of a large block of Velveeta cheese, cubed

1/2 block (8oz) cream cheese, cubed

3 tbs of butter (I use sweet cream butter)

Water for boiling the macaroni

Salt

In a large pot, bring water to a boil. Add salt, then macaroni.

**Now, I don’t measure my water. After all these years, I just know how much water I need in my large pot. You’ll want the water to come within an inch of the top of the pot.**

Cook macaroni to al dente.

*What the heck is that?! You want to macaroni to still have a “bite” to it. In other words, you don’t want it to be mushy.*

Drain MOST of the water from the macaroni. You want to leave about 1 inch of water in the bottom of the pot. This is what is going to help create your cheese sauce.

Put pot back on burner (but make sure it is off). Add whatever macaroni that fell into your colander back into the pot. Add the cheeses and the butter. Stir until it is creamy and all the butter and cheese is melted. (Hence putting the pot back on the still hot burner)

To make Cheeseburger Mac’n’Cheese

2 lbs ground turkey (or beef, if you prefer)

1 pkg Taco Bell Chipolte taco seasoning

1/2 cup water

In a large skillet, brown ground turkey. (I will add salt and pepper to taste, but you do what you like to seasoning the turkey or beef…just remember you will be adding taco seasoning to it in a minute)

When the turkey is cooked through, add the packet of taco seasoning and water. Stir together to create a sauce and bring to a simmer. (You might need a little more than 1/2 a cup of water. Just remember, you will be adding this to the mac’n’cheese with that divine cheese sauce, so you may not want watery ground turkey)

Allow to simmer for 5 to 10 minutes. Add to mac’n’cheese and stir together.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

