Skip to content

Facing your giants

January 21, 2009

I am a preschool teacher. It was not what I majored in in college. I came into this profession kind of by accident. I love it, have loved it and really don’t see me doing much else! I have been blessed to have worked in an amazing preschool in Georgia, where I received a lot of my training. I was asked to be the preschool director and teach 3 and 4 year olds. Sounded great.

Since day 1, I have been nervous. How would the children react to me? How would the parents react to me? Would the parents be willing to work with me? Would I make the right choices for the children? Would I be able to teach them everything they need to know to start kindergarten?

I went to a website dedicated to teachers. It is supposed to be a forum for teachers to come together and help each other. For me, it was anything but that. I was humiliated by a couple of teachers and ideas were discussed that left me feeling very incompetent. I know, deep down, I can do this job. I know I can teach these kids.

I turned to my friends and my family for support and was hugged, in real life and virtually, and was given so much support and sound advice. I love my friends I have made in the last couple of years. 🙂

So on to facing my giants. I went back to work yesterday feeling much better and lo and behold…it was a great day! Same for today, other than the boys tackling each other. I have faced those things that make me nervous, those things that were holding me back…and I put my trust in God to lead me through each lesson.

Face your giants. Find those things that make you hold back and stand up to them. You can face any obstacle and overcome it. You have to believe in yourself. You have to have faith in your abilities. You have to be who you are…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

